Bill Deegan

In 1977, Deegan was behind the plate for two AL no-hitters, a rare occurrence for any umpire. The year before, he was on the spot for an unusual play at Yankee Stadium when Red Sox first baseman Carl Yastrzemski lost his glove leaping for a high pickoff throw. The Yankees argued to invoke the rule that all runners advance two bases when a fielder throws his glove at a ball. Not so on two counts, ruled Deegan at first base. The glove did not touch the ball and the fielder’s action was unintentional.