Which American League Team Franchises have changed their names or cities?

1998Milwaukee Brewers transfer to the National League. Tampa Bay Devil Rays added as an expansion team.

1997California Angels renamed Anaheim Angels.

1994 – The league is split into three divisions.

1987 – Oakland A’s renamed Athletics.

1977Seattle Mariners and Toronto Blue Jays join the league as expansion teams. The league now has two seven-team divisions.

1972 – Washington Senators move to Arlington, Texas, and become the Rangers.

1970 – Seattle Pilots move to Milwaukee and become the Brewers.

1969Kansas City Royals and Seattle Pilots join league as expansion teams. The league is split into two six team divisions.

1968Kansas City Athletics move to Oakland and become the A’s.

1965 – Los Angeles Angels renamed California Angels.

1961 – Washington Senators move to Bloomington, Minn., and become the Minnesota Twins. Los Angeles Angels and Washington Senators added as expansion teams, forming a 10-team league.

1955Philadelphia Athletics move to Kansas City.

1954St. Louis Browns move to Baltimore and become the Orioles.

1913 – New York Highlanders renamed Yankees.

1903 – Baltimore Orioles move to New York and become the Highlanders.

1902Milwaukee Brewers move to St. Louis and become the Browns.

1901American League is launched with eight charter members: Boston, Baltimore, Chicago, Cleveland, Detroit, Milwaukee, Philadelphia, and Washington.

Boston (Americans, Somersets, Red Sox), Chicago (White Sox), Cleveland (Blues, Naps, Indians), and Detroit (Tigers), are the only four franchises that remain from the originals and have never been moved.