Which National League Team Franchises have changed their names or cities?

1998 – Arizona joins the league as an expansion franchise, and Milwaukee transfers from the American League, giving the NL sixteen teams.

1994 – The league is split into three divisions.

1993 – Colorado and Florida were added as expansion teams. The league now has 14 teams split into two seven-team divisions.

1969 – Montreal and San Diego added to form a 12-team league. The league is split into two six-team divisions.

1966Milwaukee Braves move to Atlanta.

1965 – Houston Colt .45s renamed Astros.

1958Brooklyn Dodgers move to Los Angeles and the New York Giants move to San Francisco.

1953Boston Braves move to Milwaukee.

1900 – Baltimore, Cleveland, Louisville, and Washington are eliminated. The league has eight teams.

1892 – Baltimore, Louisville, St. Louis, and Washington are added. The league now has 12 teams.

1890 – Indianapolis and Washington fold, Brooklyn and Cincinnati enter the league.

1889 – Detroit folds and Cleveland re-enters the league.

1887 – Kansas City and St. Louis fold, Indianapolis and Pittsburgh join the league.

1886 – Buffalo and Detroit fold, Kansas City and Washington join.

1885 – Cleveland folds and St. Louis enters the league.

1883 – Troy and Worcester fold, New York and Philadelphia join the league.

1881 – Cincinnati folds and Detroit enters the league.

1880 – Worcestor joins the league, Syracuse folds.

1879 – Buffalo, Cleveland, Syracuse, and Troy join the league. Indianapolis and Milwaukee fold. The league now boasts eight teams.

1878 – Indianapolis, Milwaukee and Providence join the league. St. Louis, Louisville and Hartford fold. The league still has six teams.

1877 – New York and Philadelphia both fold. The league plays with six teams.

1876 – The National League is born with eight charter members: Boston, Chicago, Cincinnati, Hartford, Louisville, New York, Philadelphia and St. Louis.

Only the Cubs (Chicago) and Braves (Boston, Milwaukee and Atlanta) remain from the original franchises that made up the 1876 National League.

Scroll to Top