Who was the last pitcher legally allowed to throw a spitball in the major leagues?

Burleigh Grimes, the Hall of Fame hurler of the Brooklyn Dodgers, was the last of 17 men who were allowed by baseball to throw the spit ball, in a ruling made in 1920. Those pitchers could throw the pitch the remainder of their careers, and on September 20, 1934, Grimes pitched one inning, striking out the last batter he ever faced – Joe Stripp.

The other 17 men allowed to throw the legalized spitter were Doc Ayers, Bill Doak, Phil Douglas, Dana Fillingim, Ray Fisher, Ray Caldwell, Stan Coveleski, Red Faber, Hub Leonard, Jack Quinn, Marv Goodwin, Clarence Mitchell, Dick Rudolph, Allan Russell, Urban Shocker, and Allen Sothoron.