Who were the original eight teams in the American League?

Baltimore, Boston, Chicago, Cleveland, Detroit, Milwaukee, Philadelphia and Washington were the charter members of the American League (often referred to as the Junior Circuit.) The Boston, Chicago, Cleveland and Detroit franchises exist today in their same cities. Philadelphia transferred to Kansas City (1955) and then Oakland (1968). Milwaukee became the St. Louis Browns in 1902 and then moved to Baltimore (1954). Baltimore moved to New York in 1903, where they have remained ever since. Washington moved to Minnesota and became the Twins in 1961.