Rich Garcia

Garcia’s common-sense approach put him in the wrong on the rules during his second ML season. When a pitch bounced in the dirt, hit A’s catcher Tim Hosley in the throat, and lodged between his uniform and chest protector, Garcia called time and advanced runners on first and third one base. Actually rule 509-g states: “If the ball lodges in the catcher’s mask, protector or uniform, it is a live ball and in play.” Although he had grounds, A’s manager Chick Tanner did not file a protest.