Which league has won the most World Series?

The American League has dominated the World Series, winning 57 of the 96 matchups. The New York Yankees are largely responsible for this wide disparity, going 26-11 in Series play. The A’s have also contributed, posting a 9-5 record. No National League team has double-digit wins. St. Louis has the most with nine. Of the senior circuit’s 57 losses, the Dodgers lead with 12 and the Giants are just behind with 11.

In terms of individual Series games, the only NL team with a winning record is the Florida Marlins. Even the Cardinals are just 48-48 overall. In the AL, the A’s, Yanks, Red Sox, Orioles, and Blue Jays are all over .500.