On a double-play, why is the force play at second base considered an automatic out, as long as the fielder makes an “attempt” to retire the runner at second base. There was recently a play where the fielder was in the “vicinity” of second base (approximately 3-4 feet away) on the front end of a double-play, and the out was recorded. Is this the rule, or an unwritten umpire interpretation?

While this kind of play occurs often, it is not legal under baseball rules. Officially, an out cannot be recorded …

On a double-play, why is the force play at second base considered an automatic out, as long as the fielder makes an “attempt” to retire the runner at second base. There was recently a play where the fielder was in the “vicinity” of second base (approximately 3-4 feet away) on the front end of a double-play, and the out was recorded. Is this the rule, or an unwritten umpire interpretation? Read More

Scroll to Top