How many bases are there in baseball?

In baseball, there are four bases: first base, second base, third base, and home plate. The bases are arranged in a diamond shape, with home plate at the bottom of the diamond and first, second, and third base arranged in a counterclockwise direction around the diamond.

A runner must touch each base in order, starting with first base and continuing on to second base, third base, and finally home plate, in order to score a run. The pitcher and the defense try to prevent the runner from advancing to the next base by getting the batter out or by fielding the ball and making a throw to the next base to tag the runner out.

Each base is a square measuring 15 inches by 15 inches, and they are typically made of rubber or other materials that can withstand the wear and tear of the game. The distance between each base is 90 feet, which is the standard distance used in Major League Baseball (MLB) and many other baseball leagues around the world.

Overall, the four bases are an essential part of the game of baseball, and they provide a framework for the action on the field and the scoring of runs.